Knife Fighting

I went uptown Tuesday night, with a friend, to visit an escrima class. The instructor, James, was a real nice guy and very good at what he did. After warm-ups, we did some basic two-person knife work with a reverse grip. I was suprised at how little I had to adjust from what I do (ZMC) to be able to do their drills. I think Jose’s comments (An Outrageous Claim?) were spot on. Yet there were some particularities with the knife that I don’t think I could have worked out ‘on the fly’. If I learned anything from the class, it was that I did not want to be on the wrong end of a knife! That said, I felt I had little trouble with the patterns and the flow of the drills. The experience also reaffirmed to me the advantages of being sunk and rooted. I also think the fencing (taijijian) made it easier for me to move quickly with precision. It was also fairly clear that the knife changed the dynamics in a way I was unfamiliar with, leading to occasional (and fatal) hesitations. Overall, I had a lot of fun and learned some interesting things.

I also met Karl, the kickboxing instructor. He seemed real nice and was very open to my coming to spar with his students. Just need to get my own mouthpeice and cup!

~ by aedhcarrick on October 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
